Tommy McDonnellAssociate Advisor

Education & Accreditation:

M.B.A., University of New Hampshire

B.B.A. in Management, University of New Hampshire

 

Biography

As an Associate Advisor at Socius Family Office, Tommy works hard to support clients at Socius Family Office. Formerly a Division 1 Basketball Captain at the University of New Hampshire, Tommy understands the commitment and sacrifices required to become a professional athlete. Applying his own personal experiences as a collegiate athlete, he is able to relate to Socius’s client base, understand their needs, and anticipate the challenges they may face in managing their wealth.

Tommy grew up in Durham, New Hampshire, and earned both his Bachelor and Master’s degrees from the University of New Hampshire. Currently studying for his Series 65, Tommy supports the Socius team while working to become a registered Investment Advisor Representative.

 

What inspired you to join Socius Family Office?

The people. The group at Socius makes you feel like a part of the team the moment you join. I also recognized that the level of service they provide is unparalleled and unique in this industry. The Socius team bases its focus on transparency, simplicity, and honestly – traits that are lacking from many firms in the financial industry.

What’s the most gratifying part of your job? What motivates you the most? 

Knowing that our work has a positive impact on our clients’ lives is really gratifying. For many clients, navigating their financial journey as their career progresses can be daunting, and helping them through that is rewarding.

Can you share your relevant professional experience? 

After completing my MBA, I became the youngest Agent in both major sports to be a Certified Contract Advisor in both the NBA and NFL. However, I realized that my passion was on the Financial Advisory side of the business and joined Socius Family Office to pursue that career path.

What are your personal interests outside of work? 

I enjoy hanging out with friends, going to the beach, any outdoor activities, and golfing. I currently live in downtown Fort Lauderdale and enjoy the year-round sunny weather.

What’s your favorite food?

Anything gluten free. I might be the biggest Acai Bowl fan on the planet!